Welcome to my World

About eighteen months ago, I started a new blog that pretty much consisted of book reviews. I’d update it every now and then to tell the world just exactly what I thought about such important tomes as the Will Young biography and pretty much anything JK Rowling related.

Then, not too long ago, I was filling in another one of those interminable online dating profiles, and found myself listing ‘writing’ as one of my hobbies. And that’s when I realised… I don’t write anymore, not apart from those blog posts, which were coming few and far between.

I mean, sure, I wrote a few thousand words during NaNoWriMo last year – who didn’t? – but nothing since, and not a lot prior to that, either.

Life, that great procrastinator’s tool, has taken over, and stopped me from doing what I enjoy the most. It’s time for me to fight back, to start making sure I take some time to do the stuff that I like to do. The stuff that I want to do.

So that’s why this blog exists. Through this blog, I’m going to chart the difficulties I face within writing, difficulties that are both internal and external. It’s not for rest of the internet, it’s not for any record of prosperity, it’s for me.

But that doesn’t mean that I don’t want people to come on this journey with me, from averaging 10,000 words a year to successful writer – in whatever form that takes.

The first few blog posts of this I’ve pre-planned and will be short to medium length pieces, detailing everything about those famous six wise men (they taught me all I knew, their names were what, where, when, why how and who), but after that I’m kind of free-balling.

These are the ramblings of a(nother) frustrated writer… Buckle up, kids. I don’t know where this one’s going.

Leave a Reply

