Where Do You Write Yours?

It is very important to have your own piece of space, somewhere specifically set aside, and complete with all the possible accompaniments you may need in order to write.

At least that’s what we’re told.

The truth is, if you can do that, if you can have a separate place, which is  only about writing, then brilliant. When you’re sat at your desk at work, it’s easier to be in the right mind-set to fill in spreadsheets and push pens, and perhaps the same is true of writing.

But, perhaps, the more important thing is to find somewhere that is free of distraction, free of association to another activity. It would be much harder for me to be in the right mindset to write while sat at my work desk.

The truth is, though, we can’t all afford our own study, our own bolt hole away from our friends and family. It is possible you might be able to hide in a corner of coffee shop, but what if you get there and someone’s in your seat?  That could throw your whole mindset away from being able to write.

Maybe the best thing to do is to create your own study within yourself. Learn to cut yourself off from the outside world so that you can write whenever you get the opportunity.

Over time I have written in my bedroom at my mum’s house, in bed in my own flat, in fields, on airplanes, trains, coaches and bean bags.

If you’re struggling to find the time to write, you should ensure that when the opportunity does present itself, that you are able to write, and not mentally blocking yourself because you don’t have the right pot plant to your left, because the sun is hitting the wall at the wrong angle, because you are sat in the wrong seat in a coffee shop.

Where do I write? Wherever I happen to be at the time.

3 thoughts on “Where Do You Write Yours?

  1. Wow! That’s pretty neat. I actually hadn’t thought of it like that before. Is there anything special that you do to put yourself in that mental space, or can you just say “It’s writing time” and instantly be there?

    • I have to plan it in advance. I set aside some time where I know I’m not going to be interrupted to distracted and then do it. I’m on a train this morning, and will have my earphones in and my pen out!

Leave a Reply

