#BEDM14: Bonus Time

When I first looked at the list of #BEDM14 topics, I had thought that this particular post was going to be an easy one to write – albeit perhaps not an altogether interesting one.

And then I realised that today is a Bank Holiday, which changed my plans somewhat.

The prompt was simply: 5pm today. I had considered talking about my journey home from work, or maybe that feeling one gets at home time, an excitement left over from being stuck in school all those years.

But a Bank Holiday? That changes things.

Now that we’ve grown up (some of us more so than others) the joyous, lengthy six weeks of holiday that we experienced in school is not something that we’ll see again very often. Until retirement that is.

But a Bank Holiday is one of those rare things that distills that childlike joy of six weeks summer holiday into just a single day.

5pm today, will mark the end of that ‘bonus time’, that extra day off. It marks that change between a special day, to the normal evening before work on a Tuesday.

I don’t want to get to 5pm and think I’ve wasted day, however, having said that, I’ve not made any specific plans.

I wrote about this in a previous blog. Taking advantage of any and all time you get to write.

But I’m cheating a little bit with my blog posts. It’s actually 11pm on Saturday just gone when I’m writing this, and I find myself in a bit of an odd place with my writing.

I’ve spent the last two months editing my manuscript. I finished going through it with a red pen on Thursday night, and am now transferring those updates onto my electronic version. I will likely finish that tomorrow (tomorrow for me as I write this, yesterday for you as you read it). So I’m not exactly sure what writing I’ll be doing on Monday.

By the time I get to 5pm, I may have started to write my next book. I may have cheated and gotten ahead on a few more blog posts. Or I could have started that horrendous process of trying to get an agent.

Wherever you are at 5pm, at the end of the bonus time of your bank holiday, make sure you’ve used that time wisely. And if you haven’t used it wisely, make sure you at least enjoy it.

Prompt: 5pm Today.

Leave a Reply

