#BEDM14: If You Can’t Beat Them, Join Them

For a period – it doesn’t happen so much now – most long running American TV shows resorted at one point to a clip show.

Friends did it. The Simpsons did it. Even Star Trek did it once.

The typical reason for doing one is rarely to move the story along, but to make up for time and budget constraints.

Typically, they repeat the best bits, but they’re still a repeat.

I’ve always thought it was a bit of a cop-out, but now, I feel the need to change my mind. Mostly, because I’m about to do just the same…

Two of my earlier blog posts help me answer today’s prompt.

In ‘Seeking Immortality’ I said (and I’m selecting only a few bits of the post, not all of it):

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always wanted to be a writer when I grow up – apart from a brief period when I wanted to be car salesman, because I thought you got to keep all the money from each sale, and therefore, why wouldn’t you want to sell cars for a living? You could sell one, and then take a couple of months off. Seemed relatively simple to me. And I purposefully said when I grow up, because I can assure you, at 26, I’m nowhere near grown up yet. Although I’m old enough to have had to double check how old I was.

Being a writer, wanting to write, is as much a part of me as my name is.

I remember thinking quite a while ago, that the reason I wanted to be writer was so that I could leave my mark on this world. You see it a lot in futuristic TV shows and films where Captain Picard is reading Shakespeare, and I think, how phenomenal would that be? To do something so brilliant, to achieve something so amazing that people are still talking about it eight hundred, nine hundred years later?

It’s the closest thing to immortality we have.

A well put together story can give pleasure to so many different people, and the storyteller, gets a pleasure from seeing people enjoy their words. 

That’s why I want to be a writer. That’s why I am a writer. It’s fun.

Then, in the following post ‘Stop Playing on That Bloody Game Boy’ I said:

I’m a storyteller. I want to tell stories. I write fiction and I constantly see new plots in every part of my life.

There’s a magic in holding someone’s rapt attention by telling them something that only existed in your head prior to that moment. I love making things up and telling them to my cousins, I come up with ideas for television shows, plots for existing TV, stories and dialogue for all sorts of characters that live in my head. 

Sometimes, I will retell a real event, but with the retelling, it gains embellishments, certain events may move because it makes for a better story. That’s why I couldn’t be a journalist – I’d probably be sued for misrepresentation of the facts.

Now, when I tell people I want to be a writer, internally I chastise myself, because I don’t want to be a writer. I need to be a storyteller.

 

What do I do?

I write.

I tell stories.

I make cut and paste blogs that I try to pass of as new material.

That’s what I do.

Prompt: If you can’t use your job, how would you answer ‘what do you do’?

Leave a Reply

