The Silkworm – Robert Galbraith

Last year JK Rowling was outed as the woman behind Robert Galbraith – the man behind the critically acclaimed debut crime novel ‘The Cuckoo’s Calling’.

 

Sales skyrocketed and inevitably a review from me followed. What did I have to say about it?

 

I thought the main character Cormoran Strike wasn’t likable. His sidekick Robin WAS likeable but under used. I thought the mystery element was strong, but the structure was a little too obvious, and that while it felt disappointing through the first three quarters of the book, in hindsight it was cleverly written.

 

So, the sequel was released a few weeks ago.

 

How does The Silkworm stack up?

 

I’m a massive JK Rowling fan, so there’s always a possibility that I might be biased, but………

 

It was ok.

 

Strike was a much more sympathetic character and felt very real. Robin, on the other hand, came across as a little annoying, because of the constant misunderstanding between her and Strike about her future development.

 

The book ended with the pair of them in a much better place, with Robin helping out in the investigation, but it was annoying before they got there.

 

As for the mystery, it was… ok. It didn’t really engage with me, and I thought the ending and reveal was pretty flat, likely because I didn’t really care.

 

The thing is – if anyone should have been engaged in it, it should have been me. The victim was an author and the suspects were all within the publishing industry.

 

There’s enough decent material in here – mostly Strike – to give promise to book number three, and I think now the relationship between him and Robin has developed to a point where the next book will be much better.

 

I will read book three, but I don’t think I’ll be excited prior to the publication, I may not even read it straight away. There’s better stuff out there.

 

Bit disappointed, to be honest.

Leave a Reply

