#BEDM14: Excelling in Stupidity

I have a problem.

I get annoyed really easily. By the smallest of things.

I used to think it was my problem, that I was too fussy. That I expected too much.

The biggest thing that annoys me is formatting on spreadsheets. Or rather, the lack of it.

In an office environment where data and files are shared across multiple teams and people are working on many different projects, it’s important to be able to communicate information and ideas quickly and efficiently.

All I look at when you send me a rubbish spreadsheet is that something in cell C3 isn’t capitalised.

Or you’ve coloured in a whole row in deep red and HAVEN’T changed the font to white so that it’s readable.

Or you’ve put grid lines round that section, but not all the way across.

Most of that is aesthetic stuff, and I get that a lot of it is probably personal preference, but the serial offender actually causes problems.

Inserting columns on shared spreadsheets – bad enough, I hear you cry, could there be anything worse? NOT putting a header in that column, or worse, leaving the whole thing blank.

Then some idiot comes along and sorts the spreadsheet and the first half no longer matches up with the second half.

AND THEN EVERYONE DEMANDS THAT YOU FIND A WAY TO STOP IT FROM HAPPENING BECAUSE YOU’RE THE EXCEL EXPERT.

Eight years. Eight years I’ve had to put up with this nonsense.

There is a way to stop it. Fairly simple one. But sadly I don’t have the power to fire you.

It’s not my problem. It’s yours. You’re an idiot

Prompt: What annoys you every day?

Leave a Reply

